An Aristocrat’s Dark Request

“Welcome.”
“…”

A customer came to my bar as usual.
No decent customer could come visiting this bar in the capital’s slums.
Most likely, it’s someone looking to get a dirty deed done.

This bar has become a contact point for my old organization.
After getting old and becoming unfit for my old job, I’m serving as a liaison to pick up the slack.

“What can I get you?”
“…”

The man sat wordlessly in front of me.
Then, he sharpened his senses outwards to his surroundings.

Most of my customers were like this.
Half of those who make shady requests are like that.
In particular, customers with the backing of aristocrats or large organizations don’t split their lips so easily.
They must be wary of eavesdropping.

Of course, we do take sufficient precautions to not let that happen, otherwise we’d have to shut store. But royalties don’t trust us lowly people.

“…Here you go.”

I serve him water without saying anything.
Well, he probably won’t drink it, but it would lower his trust if I didn’t serve him anything.

Then I activated the magic tool.
This magic tool allows only me to hear the voice of the person sitting at the counter.
It looks like it came out of some ruins, but it’s perfect for this kind of work.

Still, I wonder what business he had.
Social gatherings were being held right now at the capital.
Each year, according to me, the lower class people were busy in spring, while the aristocrats had too much time on their hands.

Leaving that aside, it’s pretty late even if he’s ready with an assassination request after completing his information gathering.
No. Now that I think about it, I did hear of a fallen aristocrat that defeated an aristocrat this year.

Could it be, a request to kill that guy?

In that case, I’ll have to investigate thoroughly before taking on this request.
That fallen aristocrat could be strong, but more than likely, they have a strong backing somewhere.
If I went ahead without checking up on that, it wouldn’t end with a simple burn.

Could there have been some movement from the neighboring country?

Our country and its neighbor have had skirmishes here and there for a long time.
Long enough that even the reason as to why they fight was forgotten, which is why the aristocrats don’t fight seriously.
Instead, they use people like us, who work behind the scenes, to crush problematic aristocrats and reduce the enemy forces.

There were rumors that something will go down this summer.

The neighboring country was in the same situation as us, and its belligerent faction had joined hands with our main warring faction, the second prince’s faction, to do something about the third prince’s faction.
We aren’t deeply related so I’m not very knowledgeable, but our personnel has been told not to go near the third prince’s faction.

The third prince is a good prince who runs kitchens in the slums, but if there is no war, we will be the ones in trouble.

“I have a request.”
“What will it be?”

After about ten long minutes, the customer finally spoke.
After using so many magic tools, he must have been convinced there wasn’t any chance of eavesdropping.

“I want you to investigate the pioneering village at the frontier.”

I was left dumbfounded at the unexpected request.

“…Pioneering village?”
“Hmm. You must have heard of the one that opened last year, right?”
“Yes. Well..”

That reminds me, there was a resident recruitment going on in winter, the year before last.
It was under the sponsorship of the Margravate, so we didn’t send any of our men.
The pioneering village near the demon forest is easy for harvesting magic stones, and if it goes well, you could make a lot of money, but it’s too risky doing it at a Margravate.
Besides, according to rumors, I heard there were no men left, so it was supposed to be gone by spring.
The Margravine might replenish personnel out of a sense of vanity, but it wouldn’t last long.
Just what reason could there be to investigate such a place?

“It’s possible that they’ve found a ruin.”
“I see.”

Ruins.
It is a place where you can find many relics of ancient civilizations.

If one is found, it could generate a considerable profit.

“Do you have any solid evidence?”
“Find that on your own… is what I’d like to say. Right now, I want results as soon as possible. That’s why I’ll teach you. The fallen aristocrat that appeared at the tournament, had a magic tool that could cut magic.”
“And that person happens to be affiliated with the pioneering village.”
“Correct.”

I see.
That’s something that needs to be investigated.

“I’ll be back next week. Finish your investigation by then.”
“It would take half a month alone to reach the demon forest from here. One week is a bit…”
“Whatever you find till then is fine. Besides going to the scene, there’s also information that can be collected here in the capital, right?”
“…Indeed.”

I laughed bitterly with my head down.
It looks like he had us figured out.

This kind of customer is troublesome, so I wanted to have as much leeway as I could.
It can’t be helped.

“I understand. Then let’s meet in one week.”
“Take care of it.”

Saying so, the man left a gold coin and stood up.
What a stubborn customer, to leave a gold coin as advance payment.
No, the aristocrat behind him must just that big.

I kept my head down until the customer left.

Previous Next

5 thoughts on “An Aristocrat’s Dark Request

Leave a comment