2. Farewell My Hound…..

Each of the four Heavenly Kings has their own special attribute.

Blazel the Scorching Retreat, has fire.
Voganis the Shattering Tsunami, has water.
Luviana the Dazzling Mist, has the wind attribute.

Finally, Capsodia the Dead Scorpion, which is me, has death attribute.
Meaning, I specialize in all magic related to death.
The move I used against Bastrine, [Instant Death], is just one example.

“—Man, just what is that Blazel teaching his disciples? This residence wasn’t even my home and only had government supplies belonging to the army.”

So I say as I am again reminded of my position after losing my job, my home, and my dog.
Finally, I can say I truly have nothing.

“””Bau!”””

Eh? Those three repeating voices which give the effect of sorround sound couldn’t be…!

I look back in a hurry.
What I saw was a dog with three heads shaking its tail and going “ha-ha” with its tongues out.

“Cerberus!!”

It was my beloved hound Cerberus.
It was alive.
I hugged Cerberus tightly on reflex.
It must also be happy, knowing its master is alive and well.
The three heads of Cerberus were licking my cheeks all at once.

“I’m so glad you’re safe Cerberus.”

“””Bau!”””

“Owww, ow, ow, ow! Don’t bite! don’t bite so seriously!!”

It seems that it’s hungry.
However I’m just glad that it’s doing okay.
If Cerberus were to die, I will truly have nothing left.

“I’m so glad you survived, Cerberus.”

“””Bau!”””

“Hm? You had a feeling that the house was going to burn down so you ran away?… I-I see, unlike your master at least you have great senses.”

Your nickname is supposed to be “Hound of Hell” though…..

In any case, I’m grateful that Cerberus wasn’t injured.

For me, Cerberus is the only source of healing in an otherwise difficult military service.
It can be said that he’s the most valuable existence to me in the whole world.
Therefore, I can’t let him face any more danger.

“Cerberus, listen to me carefully.”

“””Bau!”””

“I’m no longer a Heavenly King. I’ve been kicked out of the army. From now on, there will probably be many guys like this coming to beat me and make a name for themselves. At that time, I can’t put you in danger.”

“””Bau…..”””

“Which is why I will give you a choice. You can stick with me knowing the dangers fully, or you can go to Luviana’s place and live in safety. I haven’t talked with her yet, but I know we can trust her. However if you insist no matter wha…..”

“””Bauuuuuuuuuuuuuu-uuuu!!”””

Cerberus started running like a rabbit.
The direction he disappeared towards contained Luviana’s mansion.

“A..Ahwaa??? That’s strange…..”

This was completely different from what I imagined.

He started running full speed towards Luviana’s mansion…..
Did he want to be kept by Luviana that much?
Or are you the same?
Did you also hate your owner being the weakest among the Heavenly Kings?

N-nah, surely that’s not the case.
I’m sure he was just upset because he was hungry.

Well whatever.
I’m happy as long as you’re happy.

This was how I had a touching farewell with my dog.

“Keep well, Cerberus…..”

A demon like me had something shining in his eyes.

Previous Chapter Next Chapter

Leave a comment