Training

The next day—
I skipped school, and continued training in order to control this power. There were a few things I came to understand as a result of that.
First, that the more deeply you wrap Kikou (I decided to call it Kikou for now) around your body, the stronger it gets.
Second, that Kikou can strengthen one’s physical strength even if it’s wrapped in a way which cannot be seen.
Finally, it affects not only strength; but also helps in recovering from fatigue and improves stamina.

“This power is awesome. As you’d expect though, its control is just as hard.”

The fact that I was able to control Kikou as much as I had in this short period, was purely due to my training up till now. I suppose I should sincerely thank the old man for that.

The more I trained, the more I felt it felt just like the kikou I had heard of in old tales.
Kikou can be separated into [Inner Kikou] and [Outer Kikou]. Inner Kikou circulates kikou inside your body, thus enhancing the quality and control of your ‘ki’, while Outer Kikou acts on the outside by expelling bad ki, or releasing normal ki.

“Given that, I guess I’ll have to train both the inner and outer kikou separately. Inner Kikou does all its work on the inside, so I’m guessing it won’t be that difficult.”

Outer Kikou could be practiced easily if its limited to wrapping around the body; but once it starts to separate, its control becomes exponentially difficult.
In other words, if I wanted to do it right, there would be quite a lot of struggle involved.

“I guess for now, as long as I don’t let it leak out, I could attend school again.”

“Putting Outer Kikou aside for now, I should start working on minimizing my Inner Kikou.”
Unless I do that, I run the risk of injuring those around me.

I sat down in ‘Zazen’ position, and consciously try to feel the ki coursing through my body. Doing so, allowed me to confirm the existence of “ki”, which I couldn’t until now.

(I have to calm it down somehow…)
Sweat oozed out of my forehead. The shirt I was wearing began sticking to my back.

With that, two hours passed.

“I think I underestimated Inner Kikou.”
Circulating it alone wasn’t difficult, but reducing the amount of ‘ki’ inside of me to weaken its effect, proved to be more difficult than I expected.

“I guess I’ll take off from school again tomorrow.”


<Inside Northern Metropolitan Police Station, Tohto>

“Igarashi-senpai! We’re heading out! It’s a fresh case!”
The policeman with slit-eyes wearing a black-suit, Tashiro, shouts at the well-built man.

“Yeah, I’m coming.”
Igarashi replies coolly, and walks at a brisk-pace towards the car.

“Let’s go.”

While sounding out sirens only heard in the capital, a single car dashes onto the main road—–

Previous Next

2 thoughts on “Training

Leave a comment