Kikou

After that, while in a dazed state, I ended up destroying 3 more trees before reaching home. Curious as to whether it was the result of my training, I finally got used to this abnormal power after only breaking a doorknob, a set of chopsticks, and the TV remote.

In order to minimize the damage to the house, I locked myself in my room after dinner, and desperately thought about the relationship between the blue light and this abnormal power; but in the end, I couldn’t be sure of anything other than the fact that the light gave me this power.

“Haa~…what’s going on. Well, for now I suppose I’ll take off from school tomorrow…”

(Until I’m able to completely control this power, it might be better to to avoid seeing other people. Based on the trees I blew away today, a single tap on the shoulder would be enough to crush someone’s bones)
While Ritsu was thinking so, his grandfather’s voice came from the living room.

“Wha’ happened here??”
He’s probably surprised after seeing the remote control Ritsu crushed to bits.

Realizing that grandfather’s footsteps were steadily approaching my room, I hurriedly wrote a note saying I went running – and ran out the window into the forest, in order to test my powers.


“Feels nice to be back, but the light’s not here anymore.”
Coming back to where I found the light, I could only see a normal forest now.

My faint expectations of finding something out if I came back here were shattered, but for now the least I could do was try and control this power.

“It doesn’t feel like my body was remade or anything, and if I’m careful, I can move normally just as before.”

While trying to move my body like I usually did, I try and fine-tune my movements. It’s not like my muscles inflated and I became macho all of a sudden.

“But if that’s the case then I can’t figure out how I got stronger.”
“Without changing my body, nor increasing my muscle-mass, could it be something like a power-suit…?”

Frowning at the deepening mystery, Ritsu gradually adds power into his movements, when he noticed something.

“Is this, light?”

As I squinted my eyes, I noticed that the surface of my body covered in a thin blue veil. It was thicker at points where I concentrated my power, and thinner wherever I let go of the tension in my body. I was undoubtedly glowing.

“Is this a variant of ‘Kikou’ or something?”

Kikou is an ancient technique of staying healthy, as well as a martial art, but there are some stories which claim it makes your body exceedingly strong.

“It can’t be.”

(But at this point that seems like the most likely explanation…)

There is even a theory that Kikou exists in all things that exist. It wouldn’t have been so strange even if it just existed in the air but…

“In any case, I have to do my best till I’m able to extinguish this light by my own will.”

For the time being, I realized that thinking endlessly about it won’t get me anywhere, so I decided to concentrate on controlling my strength.

Previous Next

Leave a comment