Prologue

“Hah? dismissed?”

That was what occurred at the regular Four Heavenly King’s meeting.

To begin with, the state of the meeting today was strange right from the beginning.
The chairs were placed in an unusual way so my seat was in the center, while the other three were sitting surrounding me.
This was as if I was standing on trial or something.

While obscurely thinking that the air was prickly, I was suddenly given a notice of dismissal.

“You’re saying this isn’t just a demotion….. but a complete removal from the demon army?”

“Indeed, (Capsodia the Dead Scorpion).”

The Heavenly King right in front of me says so while glaring at me threateningly. He is (Blazel the Scorching Retreat).

“Haa….. but why? A demotion is one thing, but being told to leave the demon army is incomprehensible.”

“Kukakaka….. Hey Capsodia, are you seriously not getting it?”

The Heavenly King with blue skin laughs while saying so.
It was my colleague, (Voganis the Shattering Tsunami).

To be asked if “I’m not getting it” by the stupidest of the Four Heavenly Kings, Voganis…. I have seen better days.
Even so despite thinking about, I still do not understand.

I desperately needed a lifeboat and looked towards my right.
The Crimson Red Point of the Four Heavenly Kings – (Luviana the Dazzling Mist).

“…….”

She turned her face away almost as if saying “I don’t know someone like you.”

I am lost for words.
In my helplessness I finally look straight ahead at Blazel and ask him for an explanation.

“There’s a simple explanation for it, my dear Capsodia. It’s because you’re the weakest among us Heavenly Kings.”

“Weakest? Aa— that’s not possible—!!”

At that moment I finally understood.

Things go back to around 1 month ago.
It was when us Four Heavenly Kings were being interviewed by the Demon Army Public Relations group to help inspire the demons of the army. the succubus employee at that moment asked the most chilly, worn out question of all time – “Who is the strongest amongst you four?”.
It was then, the line which has by now become a famous saying among the ranks was first said out loud.

“Kukuku…..He is the weakest of the Four Heavenly Kings”.

Blazel, the one who said that, then tried to hide while sitting right in front me.

At first I thought it was just a joke.
A performance for public relations.
Then as an addition Voganis added-“It’s amazing how that guy became a heavenly king – because he’s so weak!” and agreed with Blazel’s comment.
Luviana probably followed me up with something, but I no longer remember.

Already half of the Four Heavenly Kings had declared me weak.
This fact spread quickly among the ranks of the demon army.
Before I knew it, the saying “Kukuku…..He is the weakest of the Four Heavenly Kings” had become a buzzword, even being selected for the ‘Demon Buzzword Award’ in this year.
Just the other day Blazel went to receive that award, while showing a big smile to all the demons.

“No, that was just a joke you see….. I didn’t precisely mean the weakest….”

“Well I thought it was fishy from the get-go.”

Voganis raised his foot on the table in front of him and turned towards me.

“Blazel, Luviana, and I have received territories from the Great Demon King. Yet you have not received any territory.”

Voganis continues to point things out.

“Furthermore you are still level 1, despite the rest of us having already crossed into 3 digits”.

Level is a numerical value which indicates the level of strength of all living creatures in this world.
It is set up so that if you complete certain goals with your own unique magic then you will get a corresponding amount of experience, and after reaching a certain threshold you will level up.
There are various specific goals but to give a simple example – if a demon kills a human, they get 1 point of experience.

The higher the level, the higher the physical ability and magic power.

By the way, Voganis is level 132.
Luviana is level 155.
Finally Blazel is level 205, the only one of us in the big leagues.

Finally Voganis stops and it’s Blazel’s turn again.

“It’s just as Voganis says. You are just a fletchling not even acknowledged by the Great Demon King. Your only job is to keep numbers even. In any case, you who wears the title of ‘the weakest’ has no right to call himself a Heavenly King. If we are grouped in the same category as you, the morale of the whole demon army will go down.”

“Haa?! Don’t mess with me! To begin with this was because YOUR mistake!!!”

BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMM!!!!!!

Suddenly, a roaring sound rang in the meeting hall.
By the time realization dawned upon me, half the meeting hall had disappeared and the ridgeline of a distant mountain had become rounded.
Behind the scenes, a sweltering heat drifted around my nose.
However, there is no fire.
Only the wall of mythril melted by heat remained.

Blazel’s Extreme skill, [Dragonia Flame].

It is an extreme destruction magic which is even capable of deforming terrains.
Voganis, who was grinning from side to side till now, was also taken aback by its power.

“Do you have any complaints?”

His words were tingling with murderous intent.
Looking ahead, there was Blazel glaring at me with his golden eyes.

However, I am also a heavenly king.
I cannot stay silent like this.
Even if Blazel is the leader of the Four Heavenly Kings, I have a right to voice my opinion.
That is indeed my style.

I pointed towards Blazel.

“Please wait, Lord Blazel!”

A silent voice echoes.
Luviana finally opened her mouth.

“A battle between two executives is strictly forbidden by the Great Demon King. You stand back as well Capsodia.”

“Hey! Luviana! Why did you refer to Blazel as “lord”, while not me?”

“Can you be quiet? Things are already complicated!!”

Luviana stares at me with a frightening face.
Yep. I have known her for a long time, but when she gets angry, she’s even scarier than Blazel.”

The same Blazel stood up from his seat.

“Your dismissal was an already decided matter. Now pack your bags and leave this place.”

“See ya’! Capsodia….”

Voganis followed and the door to the meeting room closed audibly.
The only ones left were me and Luviana.
A sudden silence befalls us.


The one who opened up to speak first was Luviana.

“That’s why I told you, it’s fine even if it’s just on the surface, so get along with Blazel.”

“I tried to get along with him the whole time.”

I tell her in a sharp tone.
After hearing so, Luviana sighs a deep breath.

“the Heavenly Kings — are you truly going to leave the Demon King Army?”

“After being told that much I can’t avoid it. Besides putting their words aside, It is true that I am yet to receive a single piece of land and that my level is still 1.”

“That’s because your Death Attribute Magic…”

“That doesn’t matter. Besides…”

I look at traces of the extreme skill that Brazel released again.
The wall made of mythril disappeared in an instant, and the mountain and the earth beyond it were scooped out.
With this technique, he raised his level by slaughtering thousands or even tens of thousands of humans, thus his achievements being recognized and him receiving territory from the Demon King.

Voganis was the same.
Luvania was also the same.

Yet I could never do such flashy moves.
As a result, I couldn’t make the same request the the Great Demon King.

“I’m sorry, but what the Demon King’s army needs in the future is a guy like Brazel. I can’t forgive him for what he did to me, but his power is the real deal. So if he asks, I have no choice but to retire.”

“Why were you always, so good at following orders…”

“Mm? Did you say something?”

“Nothing really. “Die, you idiot”, that’s what I said”.

“How crude. Even a woman hero of these times could spit out a better line than that.”

“Shut up! Just leave already.”

“Yeah, yeah.”

I retreat quietly.
but then—

“Capsodia!”

“Huh?”

“S-sorry, I couldn’t be of help to you.”

There stood a rare and peculiar Luviana.
At least she seems to be genuinely worried about me.

“Thanks for earlier.”

“Eh?”

“If you hadn’t stood in between us earlier, it wouldn’t have ended with just a brawl. There is not a single good thing that can come out of two Heavenly Kings fighting.”

“I-It’s not like I was thinking about that…”

“Mm? Could you speak a bit louder?”

“It’s nothing. Go on now, leave this place.”

“Yeah, yeah.”

This was how I, Capsodia the Dead Scorpion left the Demon King Castle.

Next Chapter

=======================================================

Hello! Nyan translations here, this is my very first work so I hope you can be lenient while judging its quality. I hope to continue this series for a while to test out waters, so look forward to it!

10 thoughts on “Prologue

Leave a comment