Homecoming

“Yozakura-sama. I cannot go beyond the 7th floor, so you will have to progress on your own from here. My apologies. But if it’s you, you can go all the way up to the 11th floor.”
Izumi, who had ascended till the 7th floor, stood in front of the 8th floor staircase as she explained to Ritsu.
“This staircase only goes till the 8th floor. The one on the 8th only goes only till the 9th floor. It is set up so you can climb only one floor at a time.”

“Got it, I’ll find my own way from here. Thank you very much.”
Ritsu walked up the stairs after saying that.




Having ascended to the 8th floor, Ritsu soon found the staircase to the 9th floor and was currently looking for the staircase to the 10th floor.
“I found the last one so quickly though… Let’s use Kikou.”
Ritsu covered himself in Ki, and released it outwards.

“The staircase is that way. I also sense 3 people there. Are ordinary people less sensitive to Ki? I don’t feel any reaction from them.”
Ritsu whispered in a small voice and continued towards the stairs.

“Who’s there?”
A giant bear like man of about 50 years, stood above the staircase looking down at Ritsu.
“You are…”

“What?”

“It’s been a long time, Detective Igarashi. It’s good to see you again.”
Ritsu greeted the giant man on top of the stairs with a smile.
“I’m no longer a detective, but how do you know that? Have we met before?”
Igarashi questioned Ritsu, confused.

“Yes. My name is Yozakura Ritsu. We met 54 years ago, in front of my residence in the northern sector.”

“You, it can’t be. You were alive…how?”
Unable to hide his panic, Igarashi looked like he had seen a ghost.
“Are you really, Yozakura-kun?”

“Yep, Mr. Detective. Did you solve those mysterious deaths in the end?”
Ritsu brought up topics only he knew of one after another to prove it was him.
“It’s really…you. How?”
Igarashi finally believed Ritsu, dyeing his face in astonishment, but he regained his composure just as quickly.
“No, this isn’t the time to bring that up, I apologize. You did good making your way here. I’m also glad to have met you once more. Let me guide you to where your grandfather is, I bet you’re dying to meet him. Fortunately, he’s on the 11th floor currently.”
After getting a handshake from him, Igarashi began guiding Ritsu to his destination.
“Yes, please. That reminds me, I came across an Ouchou-ranked person right outside the entrance, and ended up having a scuffle with him.”
Ritsu consulted him with a troubled expression.

Ouchou, huh. By any chance, was that person’s name “Sumeragi”?”
Igarashi made an expression indicating his disappointment.
“Aah, yes. I think he mentioned something like that. Does that mean anything?”
Ritsu asked the dismayed Igarashi.

“Well, let’s see. I’ll explain all that in detail after we reach the top floor. Ah, don’t mind what happened at the entrance, I’ll take care of that.”
Igarashi put his hand on Ritsu’s shoulder and urged him to climb the stairs in front of him.
“Got it. I’d also like to meet grandfather as quickly as possible.”
Saying that, the two began climbing up the stairs.


At the end of the stairs, there was a garden-like space spread around them, instead of a roof like before. As the two proceeded, they saw a single-family house and a dojo.

“That is…”

“Surprised?”
Igarashi laughed at Ritsu, who stood still in amazement.
“Yes, how nostalgic. This, is my house from Tohto, as well as the dojo…”
Arriving in front of the house, Ritsu slid open the door just enough to squeeze in.

“I’m home.”

Without coming in, Igarashi stepped back and gazed at Ritsu.
“Let’s talk tomorrow. I shall head back below.”
As he said that, Igarashi went back to the direction of the dojo.

“Even the floor plan is exactly the same…”
Ritsu put his hand on the handle for the living room.

……….*Gatcha*

As he went inside, the sound of carefree humming could be heard from the bathroom.

“Guess I’ll start on dinner.”

By the time he had finished making supper, Yozakura Ryuugen–Ritsu’s grandfather had stepped out of the bathroom.
“I wondered who it was. So you finally came back huh…”
After noticing Ritsu and gazing at him wide-eyed, Ryuugen made a warm expression, and said so.
“Gramps.”

“Gosh darn it, where’dja walk off to fer’ 54 years, eh?”

“I was just getting some training done outside…”

“I see.”

“I managed to survive because of my training.”
Ritsu looked firmly at his grandfather, as he said so.
“I, see…”
Ryuugen widened his eyes, and approached Ritsu.
“Welcome back, Ritsu.”

“Yeah, I’m home.”
Ryuugen placed his hand on Ritsu’s head, and stroked it a little roughly. Ritsu kept his head down, and for a while, didn’t dare to move from that spot.

Previous Next

3 thoughts on “Homecoming

  1. Thanks for chap
    Lol a famous trouble maker huh.

    Imagine how comica it would be if mc told gramps he was staying in their oh home and it’s him who got lost

    Like

Leave a comment